Students Advance to 2022 Regional National History Day Competition

A group of 47 Bronxville High School students were named winners in one of several categories at the schoolwide competition of National History Day. As a result of their outstanding work, the students have advanced to the 2022 Lower Hudson Valley Regional National History Day Competition, which will be held virtually on March 23.


Having conducted extensive historical research on a topic of their choice over the last several months, the students’ authentic work focused on the 2021-22 theme of “Debate & Diplomacy in History: Successes, Failures, Consequences.” Their work was displayed in one of five ways – paper, website, documentary, performance or exhibit. At the regional competition, the students will be interviewed by professors and scholars and articulate what they’ve discovered through their historical research. Winners in that competition will advance to the state competition and ultimately to the national finals. 


“Our students rose to the occasion and produced wonderful projects that reflected solid research and understanding,” said teacher Dana Landesman, adding that it was a difficult task to choose which students would move on to regionals because of the high quality of work. “We are so thankful to our high school colleagues who reviewed and provided feedback to students during our in-house competition.”


Landesman oversees the research program along with teachers Kris Hart and Christina Reidel. 


Congratulations to the following students who have advanced to the regional competition in these categories: 


Documentary (Individual): Victoria Fang, Johnny Teodorczuk and Lila Rucci.


Documentary (Group): Harrison Brown, AJ Diaz, Simos Dimas, Jackson Meyercord and Dev Tarwala; Finn Demarr, Skylar Lau and Caspar Smith; Charlie Hodulik, Walker Liggitt, Rohit Mandapati, Liam Neild and Kiran Waggoner.


Website (Individual): Lilah Keating, Julia Perry and Lucy Thiessen.

Website (Group): Morea Gjocaj, Erik Gjonpalaj, Elira Punter and Jackie Zhuta; Aryia Banihashem-Ahmad, Maeve McWilliams, Liam O’Connor, Jeffrey Rohr and Katarina Seuffert, Katie Korb and Annie Greatrex.

Research Paper: Harrison Gallo, Hannah Shammas and Paris Zhang.

Performance (Individual): Izzie Schmidt.


Exhibit (Individual): Fiona Barr, Quinn McCarthy and Matt Walsh. 

Exhibit (Group): Katherine Gunduz, Leo Nevezhin and Annie Petrillo; Gabbi Bici, Kathryn Giuriceo, Alden Martinelli, Victoria McEnroe and Maddie Stupart; Sophia Ikiri and Brigitte Clark.