High School Musicians Recognized for Being Selected as All-State Performers

State Senator Shelley B. Mayer and County Executive George Latimer welcomed high school students from across Westchester County who have been selected for the All-State performers for the New York State School Music Association. The students and their teachers were recognized for their musical accomplishments. 

State Senator Shelley B. Mayer said, “I am honored to recognize these extraordinary students for their hard work and dedication to their craft. I have had the pleasure to listen to many of their performances, and I am left with chills every time. I congratulate NYSSMA President Edmund Chiarello and the terrific musicians – and their music teachers, their schools, and their families – for their accomplishments and thank them for joining us in this celebration. I also thank County Executive George Latimer for helping me recognize each student.”

County Executive George Latimer said, “Westchester is rich with talent as showcased by the over 40 students from 26 distinct Westchester schools who were selected as all-state performers by the NYSSMA association. Their success reflects their hard work and commitment as well as the level of education and support of their music teachers.”

New York State School Music Association President Edmund Chiarello said, “With music, students learn to appreciate, value, enjoy, and ultimately to come together as one. Music builds community. My esteemed congratulations to all the Westchester County All-State Musicians for their tremendous effort and for reaching the mountain top.”

Senator Mayer, County Executive Latimer, and NYSSMA President Chiarello were also joined by Deputy County Executive Ken Jenkins, and County Legislators Erika Pierce and Benjamin Boykin.

The All-State Symphonic Band includes: Rachel Horn of Blind Brook High School, Hannah Sigurdsson of Eastchester High School, Jaymin Ding of Rye Country Day School, Yuriy Kryvoruchko of Alexander Hamilton High School, Alexander Rivas of Rye Country Day School, Aaron Lestz of Byram Hills High School, Owen Gurekian of Scarsdale High School, and Christian Laughlin of Lakeland Central School. 

The All-State Symphonic Orchestra includes: James Jihao Lyu of Scarsdale High School, Reese Wang of Horace Greeley High School, Ava Choi of Horace Greeley High School, Ai Yamamoto of Harrison High School, Cameron Bly of Fox Lane High School, Bryan Chung of Scarsdale High School, Veronica Yu of New Rochelle High School, and Samantha Lee of Rye Country Day School. 

The All-State Mixed Chorus includes: Sophia Kliatchko of Hackley School of Tarrytown, Sage Wiley of Briarcliff High School, Aviela Lim of New Rochelle High School, Chaeli Nelson of Horace Greeley High School, Morgan Hecht of Byram Hills High School, Madeleine Brandes of Bronxville High School, Sophia Wu of Scarsdale High School, Gregory Dalietos of Yorktown High School, Rocco Sansotta of New Rochelle High School, Gabriel McCabe of Westlake High School, Colin Yung of Edgemont Jr/Sr High School, Henry Podoll of Tuckahoe High School, Andrew Scott of Pelham Memorial High School, Justin Suozzo of Harrison High School, Anabelle Shotton of Dobbs Ferry High School, Gabriella Brenner of Irvington High School, and Ellis Smith of New Rochelle High School. 

The All-State Vocal Jazz Ensemble includes Grace Kiam of Pelham Memorial High School and the All-State Instrumental Jazz Ensemble includes Clyde R. Jones of Valhalla High School. 

The Winter Conference Piano Showcase includes Ariana Thomas of Briarcliff High School and Benjamin Wein of Eastchester High School. 

The All-State Music Composers include Aria Wang of Greenville Elementary School and Hermoine Young of Fox Meadow Elementary School as Young Composers and Jack Roche of North Salem UFSD, Manato Ogawa of Eastchester High School, Dylan Raghavan of Sleepy Hollow Middle School, and Matteo Sohn of Scarsdale High School as Electronic Music Composers.